Allo' Expat Guadeloupe - Connecting Expats in Guadeloupe
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Guadeloupe Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Guadeloupe
Guadeloupe General Information
History of Guadeloupe
Guadeloupe Culture
Guadeloupe Cuisine
Guadeloupe Geography
Guadeloupe Population
Guadeloupe Government
Guadeloupe Economy
Guadeloupe Communications
Guadeloupe Transportations
Guadeloupe Military
Guadeloupe Transnational Issues
Guadeloupe Healthcare
Guadeloupe People Language & Religion
Guadeloupe Expatriates Handbook
Guadeloupe and Foreign Government
Guadeloupe General Listings
Guadeloupe Useful Tips
Guadeloupe Education & Medical
Guadeloupe Travel & Tourism Info
Guadeloupe Lifestyle & Leisure
Guadeloupe Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Guadeloupe Government


Guadeloupe became an overseas department of France in 1946, and as such, is part of the European Union. Its head of state is the President of the French Republic, who appoints a Prefect (resident at the Prefecture building in Basse-Terre) as his representative. It honours the French Constitution of September 1958, and utilises the French legal system. Guadeloupe is represented in the French parliament by two senators in the French Senate and four deputies of representatives in the French National Assembly.

The legislative branch is composed of a unicameral General Council and a unicameral Regional Council.

The judicial branch is composed of two courts: A Court of Appeals and an Assize Court, used for the settling of felonies. These courts are located in Basse-Terre with jurisdiction over Guadeloupe, French Guiana, and Martinique.


Country name :
conventional long form: Department of Guadeloupe
conventional short form: Guadeloupe
local long form: Departement de la Guadeloupe
local short form: Guadeloupe

Dependency status :
overseas department of France

Government type :

Capital :

Administrative divisions :
none (overseas department of France)

Independence :
none (overseas department of France)

National holiday :
Bastille Day, 14 July (1789)

Constitution :
28 September (1958)

Legal system :
French legal system

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2015 | Policy